Alumni Spotlight: Lori Burns

For this Alumni Spotlight, we are catching up with Lori Burns! Lori received both of her degrees from UNT, in RTVF and Higher Education. While working in UNT housing (for 9 years, in various capacities) she served as an officer in the West Hall Association, a Resident Assistant, Special Assistant, Assistant Hall Director and Hall Director. She worked at Kerr and West during that time and now we are seeing what she is up to now!

wetrheqj

What skills did you gain while working in UNT housing? I learned so much working for University Housing. I learned how to be an effective leader and supervisor through my various roles on campus. As the Special Assistant for Programming I learned the importance of time management and developed a number of administrative skills by tracking programs for the department, helping to execute various conferences by assisting with registration and assisting with a number of fundraisers for RHA. As a Hall Director I learned how to be an effective supervisor for both full-time and part-time employees and what it means to be responsible for a facility. All of my various positions also taught me that things aren’t always black and white. I learned the importance of considering all angles of a situation to reach the best solution.

How did you apply those skills after college? The skills I learned in my positions at UNT really helped me to be an effective Area Coordinator when I moved to Georgia College. As I have advanced in housing my scope has become more broad but having first-hand knowledge of various housing positions has helped me to help others acclimate to their new roles.

wrtjwrtjwtrj

Picture includes: Dennis and Christine Hall, Eugene Frier, Amanda and Derek Gates, Addison Gates and Ben and Dalena Taylor

What experience do you have with our housing organizations? For 3 years I had the pleasure of co-advising RHA with two of my best friends. I learned a lot during my years of advising. I learned how to work with students and guide them to become better leaders. I learned how to challenge students and push them out of their comfort zones. On a more practical note, I was able to work with students and teach them how to plan and implement large scale programs. Some of my fondest memories are from my years as a hall association member and advisor.

I was a member of hall association and RHA as an undergrad, advised RHA as a grad student, was a member of NRHH during my undergrad and supported the organization as a professional. As a professional staff member I had the opportunity to serve on a number of committees both for housing and the university. I also had the opportunity to co-teach an Exploring Majors and Careers class for Undergraduate Studies. Teaching the class gave me firsthand experience in the classroom as well as the opportunity to academically advise eight to ten students. Getting the opportunity to know more about the academic side of things was a great asset to have.

Favorite memories? There are too many to list, but I’ll try. Working for housing gave me the opportunity to build a great extended family that I hold near and dear to my heart.

As a student my favorite memories revolve around a group of guys from West Hall known as “The Family.” This group of guys really made living at West an experience to remember. Andrew Acker, one member of The Family, was the first to push me to get involved with hall association. Had he not asked me to join, there’s no telling where I’d be now.

afdhadf

My favorite memories as an RA all have the common thread of either the West front desk or the West cafeteria. I couldn’t even begin to calculate the number of hours spent in those two locations with fellow staff members laughing and talking about ridiculous things. One summer me and my wing dog, Temple Latimer, helped our CDs remodel the lobby. While it was hard work it was a lot of fun.

sadfhaqdfh

My years as an SA were definitely my favorite! During that time I made some of the best friends I will ever have. Sarah Mathis (now Nowery), Ben Taylor, Derek Gates, Lisa Kelsey and Bill Rose and many others really helped make those years special. In my own little way, I got to live out my favorite TV show, Friends. For three years I lived across the hall from Ben at College Inn and worked with an amazing group of people who in some way or another embodied someone from the show.

afhqdfh

Pictures include: Derek Gates, Ben Taylor, Sarah Mathis, Lisa Kelsey, Eric Lockett, Bill Rose and Jon Bartlett

It was also during the SA years that we formed the award winning chili cook-off team, The Hot Pickle! I think we’re still surprised that what we thought would be a one-time thing turned into a lasting tradition that has resulted in two 1st place wins!

wrtjt

Pictures include: Derek Gates, Ben Taylor, Sarah Mathis, Lisa Kelsey, Bill Rose, Matt Lester and Hope Garcia

While I was one of the AHDs at Kerr we had the opportunity to take a staff camping trip to the Ozarks. It was one of the most challenging experiences of my life and it really brought us closer as a staff. I also have great memories of working with the other AHD, Andrew Rogers. We had a lot of fun keeping each other entertained in the office with crazy antics that may or may not have involved karate kicking trash cans.

As a hall director at West I spent three and a half years making amazing memories with each RA staff I had the honor of supervising. One of my favorite memories as a hall director has to be the time that after a fire drill one of my RAs, Stephen Baker, was saying how hungry he was because he didn’t make it back to the hall before the cafeteria closed. I mentioned that I could make him a grilled cheese sandwich if he wanted and he happily took me up on the offer. Other RAs overheard and asked if they could have one too. Little did I know that at the time I was starting what would become a fire drill tradition. From that day on after every fire drill I would invite the entire staff back to my apartment and make them grilled cheese sandwiches.

wsterjqjt

Just a few staff pics from over the years.

West Hall will always hold such a special place in my heart. It’s where I started and ended my time at UNT and I wouldn’t have had it any other way. As far as I know the “Welcome to West Hall “ sign I made with Temple during our RA days still hangs in the lobby. (It’s still there!)

ahadfh

My last day in West Hall.

I also share many great memories with my fellow HDs and mid-level staff I had the pleasure to work with. Hall director retreats, homecoming bonfires and activities, Thursday morning staff meetings, geek lunches, committee meetings, the list goes on and on.

arhqh

Working RHA Homecoming giveaways with Mandi Carey, Tracy and Eugene Frier.

One of my fondest memories will always be my going away party (or roast for those from the olden days) that was held in the lobby of West. Having the opportunity to be surrounded by my family and friends I made over the years at UNT and to hear their favorite memories that we shared will be an experience I will treasure forever.

What are you up to now? I left UNT to continue my advancement in the housing field. In 2011 I moved to Milledgeville, GA and became an Area Coordinator at Georgia College. In 2013 I became the Associate Director of Student Development for University Housing. While I have been fortunate enough to conquer two new positions since leaving UNT I know that I still have a lot to learn. I learn something new every day and each position I’ve held has helped to prepare me for the next one ahead. I can’t wait to see what else my current position will bring into my life, but I know I’m ready for the challenges and lessons that lie ahead of me.

ewarhqejhqj

My first move in day at Georgia College!

Staff retreat with the Community Directors and Student Leadership team!

Staff retreat with the Community Directors and Student Leadership team!

Do you have any advice for current housing staff members? If I could offer any advice to current staff members, it would be to take advantage of every opportunity you’re given. If you’re asked to be on a committee, do it. If you have a chance to serve as an executive board member for a student organization, do it. When presented with something you don’t necessarily agree with, ask questions and seek to understand. And most importantly, treasure the relationships you build during your time in housing, whether it be with residents, fellow staff members or those in more administrative positions. Invest in others and learn everything you can from them. Hopefully you’ll be as lucky as I was to find the friendships that will last a lifetime and the experiences to be able to face whatever life throws at you.

Thank you so much to Lori for sharing so many amazing memories and moments with us. You truly have made an impact on UNT housing and we are so grateful for your service and dedication to residence life!

Leave a comment